Porsche Supercup: Thiim leads from pole to claim first victory of season

Among basking sunshine at the UK’s historic Silverstone circuit, Danish driver Nicki Thiim claimed his first victory of the season by pipping Michael Ammermüller by just 0.580 seconds to close the gap on championship leader Sean Edwards.

Meanwhile, Total 911’s ‘one to watch’, Ben Barker, continued some solid form in his debut Supercup season by bringing his Team Bleekemolen 991 GT3 Cup home in ninth position.


Attempto Racing’s Thiim took off from pole position and immediately settled in at the front of the field, opening up a huge gap at the front of the field as a first victory since Spa last year looked to be a formality. However, some superb driving by Lechner Racing’s Michael Ammermüller, who charged up the field from sixth position, duly closed the gap and ensured the Silverstone round finished with excitement.


Ammermüller continues his rich vein of form in being the only Supercup driver to finish on the podium in every round so far this season and has closed the gap on Championship leader Sean Edwards to just four points. Thiim’s victory means he is now only eight points off the championship leader.


Ben Barker enjoyed a solid race on his home circuit, and his continued final placing in the top ten means he lies a respectable sixth in the overall drivers championship, and second in the Rookie classification. You can catch more on Ben Barker as he introduces us to the 991 GT3 Cup in in an upcoming edition of Total911 magazine.


The Mobil 1 Porsche Supercup returns to the Nurburgring on July 7th.

Points standings after 3 of 9 races
1. Sean Edwards (GB), Team Allyouneed by Project 1, 54 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D), Lechner Racing Team, 50
3. Nicki Thiim (DK), Attempto Racing, 46
4. Kuba Giermaziak (PL), VERVA Racing Team, 44
5. Michael Christensen (DK), DAMS, 28
6. Ben Barker (GB), Team Bleekemolen, 20
Christian Engelhart (D), FACH AUTO TECH, 20

Rookie classification
1. Michael Christensen (DK), DAMS, 28 points
2. Ben Barker (GB), Team Bleekemolen, 20
3. Richie Stanaway (NZL), DAMS, 19
4. Klaus Bachler (A), FÖRCH Racing, 15

Comments (0)